Michael Jackson’s Xscape

by Ronald A. Rowe April 23rd, 2014
It has been five years since the death of pop music legend Michael Jackson.  To mark the anniversary, Sony Music Entertainment and Epic Records will release Jackson’s second posthumous album in May.  Sony is going to unusual lengths to keep the details of the album a secret prior to its official release.  We do know the album will be entitled Xscape and will consist of eight previously-unreleased songs.

The world got a sneak peek at one of the tracks when "Slave to the Rhythm" was used as a bit of cross-promotion in a commercial for one of Sony’s products, the
Read More
Like What You're Reading?
Sign up for Tunes News' Weekly Newsletter



The Kid is OK

by J Frazzetta April 21st, 2014 | Featured Artist
During 1995, Radiohead were beginning work on their third album and trying to improve on their live sound by going on tour with Alanis Morissette in late 1996.  Getting back to the studio during the winter of 1996-97, the band would release OK Computer in June.  It wouldn’t take more than 30 seconds for anyone to realize that this was a whole new sound from a band that had been pegged as just another Brit-guitar group.  Doubt, paranoia, serious
Read More


  • Soundtrack: Frozen
  • Pharrell Williams:G I R L
  • 5 Seconds Of Summer:She Looks So Perfect
  • MercyMe:Welcome To The New
  • Black Label Society:Catacombs Of The Black Vatican
  • SoMo:SoMo
  • Martina McBride: Everlasting
  • Luke Bryan:Crash My Party
  • Shakira:Shakira
  • Florida Georgia Line:Here’s to the Good Times
  • Cloud Nothings, Here and Nowhere Else, 2014

    by J Frazzetta April 18th, 2014 | Album Review
    Dylan Baldi is stuck in the 80’s, and not the one with bad hair, tight pants, and that terrible snare drum sound.  Come on, Avid Reader, you know me better than that, right?  Good, for the last few days I’ve been listening to this album, and all I can think about is Dinosaur Jr., Husker Du or mid-90's Sebadoh.  Baldi and company have managed to update that 80’s hardcore sound into the modern era, all the while keeping the angst, intense rhythms, and fuzzed out guitars intact.  At just eight tracks roughing out to be a little over 30 minutes, this
    Read More
  • Skillet: Rise

    by Ronald A. Rowe April 17th, 2014 | Album Review
    Skillet’s 2013 album, Rise, is the album that The Who would make… if The Who was a Christian hard-rock band operating in the second decade of the 21st Century. It may not be Tommy or Pink Floyd’s The Wall, but Rise is the purest and most enjoyable concept album to come out in decades.

    Rise features lead singer / bassist John Cooper, guitarist / keyboardist/backup vocalist/lead singer’s wife Korey Cooper, Drummer/vocalist Jen Ledger, violinist Jonathan Chu, cellist Tate Olsen, and newcomer Seth Morrison on lead guitar. The expectations were high for the follow up to Skillet’s breakthrough album, Awake, and
    Read More